新产品策划

HaveYouBeenDiscovered.com

探索您的需求

开展一次新产品策划探索会谈

供应商可能会询问您是否决定在您所在行业中开展投资进行新产品的研发并希望首先了解您的需求。这非常好!但您是否注意过有多少供应商猜测您的需求,然后开发出您不感兴趣的产品?

1. 探索会谈的目的是什么?

其实就是:在供应商尝试开发新技术之前,您希望他们了解的所有信息结果:您告诉供应商您最希望看到的那些成果或最终结果。

2. 议程是怎么样的?

1) 当前状态:2 或 3 个背景问题;2) 存在的问题:您希望消除的所有困难;3) 理想状态:您所期望的完美状态;4) 触发的观点:帮助您创造性思考的有用工具;5) 最佳选择:您所追求的最好成果

3. 我应该准备些什么?

如果您尚未准备,也无需担心。供应商团队将会做好会议所需的所有工作。您只需带上自己,让头脑接收一些有趣的新点子。他们将利用特殊的触发地图成果报表来帮助您了解一切。

4. 我应当邀请谁同往?

贵公司中对此主题颇感兴趣并且希望在供应商开始研发工作之前发表一下自己观点的任何人。这些观点可以涉及技术、采购、运营、营销、设计、安全等各个方面。

5. 供应商将派谁出席会谈?

他们通常会派出至少 1 位商务(营销或销售)人员和 1 位技术专家来聆听和了解您的需求。

6. 我可以得到会议记录的副本吗?

当然可以!敬请索取。会议后,供应商会将已清除所有打印错误并汇集全部讨论内容的 PDF 文件发送给您。

7. 我们应当在何地举行这项会议?

最佳地点是配备数字投影仪的会议室。如果您没有投影仪,供应商将自行携带。您还可以通过网络会议远程邀请同事参与其中。

8. 谁将拥有我们开发的解决方案?

会谈中不会出现任何问题解决方案。供应商仅仅需要了解您希望发生什么而不是如何发生。这就是他们为什么关注您希望看到的成果而非解决方案的原因所在。

9. 我们是否需要签订保密协议?

一般情况下是不需要的。这并不涉及开发需要保护的新解决方案。而只是有关您所期望的成果或最终结果。如果您有任何保密信息,无需提及。

10. 我可以知道其他人在会谈中说些什么吗?

不可以,供应商不会向其他人透漏会谈中的任何特定资源和反馈...当然也包括您的!但如果您希望他们与您分享一些具有普遍性的精华结果,也可以向他们询问。

11. 供应商可以只为我们开发新产品吗?

在某些情况下,供应商一次只为一个客户创造新产品。但是在许多时候,他们会计划对重要的研发资源进行投资,并且需要针对整个行业开发产品才能平衡支出。

12. 探索会谈之后会发生什
么?

探索会谈是定性的发散阶段,在会谈中供应商尝试了解客户想要获得的所有可能成果。接下来,他们将进入定量的聚合阶段,开展需要优先执行的偏好会谈。如果您希望参与其中,请告知您的供应商!

1. 探索会谈的目的是什么?

5. 供应商
将派谁出席会谈?

9. 我们是否需要签订保密协议?

2. 议程是
怎么样的?

6. 我可以得到会议记录的副本吗?

10. 我可以知道其他人在会谈中说些什么吗?

3. 我应该准备些
什么?

7. 我们
应当在何地
举行这项会议?

11. 供应商可以只为我们开发新产品吗?

4. 我
应当
邀请谁同往?

8. 谁将
拥有我们开发的解决方案?

12. 探索会谈之后
会发生什么?

我将从中获得什么?

许多公司都追求开放式创新。他们从大学、初创公司等寻找新的外部技术。这非常有用,但是您的最佳资源通常就是您的供应商…他们的研发人员早已开始致力于为您进行创新工作。探索会谈将帮助您告诉他们需要做些什么!除此之外,您可能会发现这样的会议所带来的崭新一面:供应商团队已经学会利用创新的方式激发您的思维。

探索会谈是什么?

这不同于其他供应商会议。没有推销说辞,没有无聊的调查,也没有问题解决方案。新产品策划方法专为企业与企业的智能互动而设计,并注重您的知识、经验和宝贵时间。供应商团队将推动会谈的开展,并关注对您而非供应商来说重要的事情。如果可以,他们将使用数字投影仪展示他们的记录,这样您可以确保他们正确了解您的想法。

New Product Blueprinting

HaveYouBeenDiscovered.com

HAVE YOU BEEN DISCOVERED

in a New Product Blueprinting Discovery Interview?

The supplier asking you probably decided to invest R&D in a new product for your industry… and wants to first understand your needs. Good! Have you noticed how many suppliers guess your needs… and then develop products that “underwhelm” you?

1. What's the output of a Discovery interview?

Just this: "Whatever you'd like the supplier to know before they try to develop new technology." Bottom line: You tell the supplier those "outcomes" or end results you'd most like to see.

2. What's the agenda look like?

1) Current State... 2 or 3 background questions, 2) Problems... any difficulties you'd like to eliminate, 3) Ideal State... what your perfect world would look like, 4) Triggered Ideas... helpful tools to help you think "out of the box," and 5) Top Picks... your favorite "outcomes" to be pursued.

3. How do I prepare for this?

You don't... just show up. Seriously, the supplier team will do all the work facilitating the session. Just bring your brain and be ready for some fun. They'll use special "trigger maps" and "outcome statements" to help you.

4. Who should I invite?

Anyone from your company that has an interest in this topic... and would like to get their voice heard before the supplier starts R&D work. This might include technical, purchasing, operations, marketing, design, safety, etc.

5. Who will the supplier send to the interview?

They'll usually send at least 1 commercial (marketing or sales) person and 1 technical expert... to listen hard and understand your needs.

6. Can I get a copy of the notes?

Absolutely! Just ask. The supplier will clean up any typos afterwards, and then send you a PDF of everything you discussed together.

7. Where should we have this meeting?

The best place is a conference room with a digital projector. If you don't have a projector, the supplier will bring one. You can also invite remote colleagues to join via web-conference.

8. Who "owns" any solutions we develop?

There shouldn't be any problem-solving taking place. The supplier just wants to know "what" you'd like to have happen... not "how." That's why they'll focus on "outcomes" you'd like to see, and not solutions.

9. Should we have a Non-Disclosure Agreement?

Generally no. This isn't about developing new solutions that need protected. It's about your desired outcomes or end-results. If you have confidential information, simply don't bring it up.

10. Can I see what others have said in their interviews?

No, the supplier won't disclose to others any specific sources and feedback from these interviews... including yours! But ask if you'd like them to share generalized, "scrubbed" results with you.

11. Can the supplier work on a new product just for us?

In some cases, suppliers create products for one customer at a time. But in many cases, they're planning to invest significant R&D resources, and need to develop a product for an entire industry to justify the spending.

12. What happens after a Discovery interview?

Discovery interview are the qualitative, divergent phase... where the supplier tries to understand all the possible outcomes customers might want. Next they'll do quantitative, convergent Preference interviews to prioritize. Let your supplier know if you'd like to be part of this step!

1. What's the output of a Discovery interview?

5. Who will
the supplier
send to the interview?

9. Should we
have a Non-Disclosure Agreement?

2. What's the agenda look
like?

6. Can I get a
copy of the notes?

10. Can I see what others
have said in their interviews?

3. How do I prepare for
this?

7. Where
should we
have this meeting?

11. Can the supplier work on a new product just for us?

4. Who
should I
invite?

8. Who
"owns" any solutions we develop?

12. What
happens after
a Discovery interview?

WHAT’S IN IT FOR ME?

Many companies pursue “open innovation”… finding new external technology from universities, start-ups, etc. That’s good, but your best sources are often your own suppliers… whose R&D staff is already dedicated to innovating for you. A Discovery interview lets you tell them what to work on! Beyond this, you’ll likely find the session refreshing: The supplier team has learned creative ways to stimulate your thinking.

WHAT’S A DISCOVERY INTERVIEW?

This will be unlike other supplier meetings… no sales pitch, no boring survey, no problem-solving. New Product Blueprinting methodology is designed for intelligent business-to-business interaction, and respects your knowledge, experience and valuable time. A supplier team will facilitate the conversation, focusing on what’s important to you, not them. If possible, they’ll use a digital projector to display their notes… so you can make sure they’re getting it right.